Whole30 Recap

Hello! I have been meaning to post about my progress on the Whole30 throughout the month and the 30 days just FLEW BY! This past month has truly been a life-changing experience for me as we completed the Whole30 Program. I call it a “program” because it’s not a diet. Yes, you eliminate certain foods for a time (mostly grains, sugars, alcohol and dairy). However, I chose to look at it not as a deprivation, but instead tried to look forward to eating the whole, natural, delicious and quality foods we COULD have, while ealing your body at the same time. Yesterday was DAY 30 and we are actually going to keep (with a few modifications) going because we feel SO GOOD.

I might treat myself a little this weekend , possibly with a glass of wine, as we are going to a “stock the bar” shower and a wedding, but I’m not too worried about it and will see what happens. In the past, I would have been concerned about being self-conscious or worried about what would be available, but at this point I don’t even crave the sugary/processed foods that I used to so it’s not so much a temptation if I’m around them. I also go into these social events prepared (possibly with a snack and always with a full belly) so I’m not starving. Overall, this is a huge win for me. I was addicted to snacking and sugar. Period. Now, I snack occasionally on something nutritious and that’s normally only if I don’t eat enough food at regular meal times.

Other results:

Energy levels: by the second week my energy levels were much better, partly because by bed time I was ready for bed and could relax and easily fall into quality sleep. I am also less stressed and having less anxiety about things that I used to, which makes it easier for me to fall asleep at night.  Last week I also spent the afternoon walking around the zoo on a warm day and I didn’t even need to stop for a break! Win for me!

Sleep quality: Being a mom of a young child, my sleep habits have not been great since my son was born. So falling asleep easily and sleeping SOUNDLY all night has been huge for me.

Eczema: my skin issues have definitely improved, but could still get better. I want to keep going with the program (for the most part) to not set this back for myself!

Overall, the program was a major win for myself. My goal was to eat healthier and change my relationship with food. Overall, we ate DELICIOUS foods to satiety and fueled our bodies to help us live our best quality lives possible and I can honestly say this worked. We also chose not to eat out at restaurants during the plan so overall it was helpful for our budget too.

Did I miss anything? I honestly didn’t miss too many things besides a piece of really good dark chocolate from time to time. 😉 I look forward to treating myself to some of this soon!

I posted my meal plan for dinners for the first week here and now I’ll share what we roughly ate the next three weeks. I never really planned for lunches/breakfasts because I mostly relied on things that were quick and easy to grab like leftovers, eggs, or tuna salad with homemade mayo. I tried to meal plan two weeks at a time, which was a huge accomplishment for me since I am not normally a great planner. We would do a huge Costco haul every other week and smaller grocery trips in the middle to stock up on produce, eggs, etc.

Week 2 Dinners:

  • Sunday: roasted chicken, potatoes, and brussel sprouts
  • Monday: chicken apple sausage, potatoes, broccoli/spinach
  • Tuesday: roasted butternut squash soup with coconut milk, spinach and chicken
  • Wednesday: (Ash Wednesday) Veggie frittata
  • Thursday: (bun-less) mushroom burgers with avocado, broccoli, and sweet potato fries over a bed of greens
  • Friday: sweet potato hash, eggs, and green veggies
  • Saturday: pork roast

Week 3 Dinners:

  • Sunday: chili made with ground beef and veggies
  • Monday: beef stew with carrots, celery and potatoes
  • Tuesday: leftovers
  • Wednesday: roast chicken, potatoes, brussel sprouts
  • Thursday: burgers with avocado/onion/tomato, broccoli, sweet potatoes/gold potatoes fries, over spinach, topped with a fried egg
  • Friday: shrimp, zucchini noodles, potatoes
  • Saturday: leftovers

Week 4 Dinners:

  • Sunday: barbecue grilled chicken wings (best meal of the month! Made by the husband), potatoes, broccoli
  • Monday: shepherd’s pie
  • Tuesday: roasted chicken, potatoes, brussels
  • Wednesday: ground beef meatballs, brussels, potatoes
  • Thursday: grilled chicken wings, potatoes, broccoli
  • Friday: blackened mahi-mahi, shrimp, sweet potatoes, broccoli
  • Saturday: burgers, avocado, brussels/broccoli, spinach, potatoes

Whew! That was a long one! I guess I had a lot to share about the excitement I have about the program. I have a lot of great resources on my Pinterest board on meals, planning, rules and general advice from bloggers. If you’re looking to find out more, I’d suggest picking up It Starts with Food, which explains the science behind the program and check out the website for rules and more resources. Going forward, we already are planning to do another Whole30 in May and will (for the most part) continue the lifestyle. I plan to add in grass-fed butter back in (because who doesn’t like butter?) and have the occasional glass of wine and treat like dark quality dark chocolate. We have a few weddings coming up over the next couple of months and we look forward to celebrating with our friends and family and enjoying life. 🙂 Have you ever done a similar “reset” or eating program? I’d love to hear! Cheers!

One thought on “Whole30 Recap

Leave a Reply

