Whole30 Round 2

My husband and I just started our second round of the Whole30 as a way to reset a few bad habits we have picked up over the last few months, particularly over the holidays. If you aren’t familiar, the Whole30 is a food program developed by Dallas and Melissa Hartwig. Their book, It Starts with Food, explains the science behind it and Whole30 explains all the rules.

whole30-book-sidebar

There are a few more particulars, but basically it’s 30 days of whole food eating: lots of healthy meat, seafood, eggs and veggies, good fats like coconut, olive oil, and nuts and occasional fruit (because of the the sugar factor). They recommend snacking to be limited, but it is allowed. Dairy, grains, sugar of any kind (refined sugar, honey, maple syrup, etc.) are prohibited. It also bans baked goods or other treats, even if they are made with paleo-friendly ingredients. The idea is: give yourself just 30 days to reset/refocus and see what happens.

We have only completed it once before–September of 2014 when Jimpy was 3 months old. My husband and I both lost a decent amount of weight (I went down to my pre-baby weight). I wasn’t focusing on losing weight by any means. Since I was breastfeeding frequently, I had to eat pretty often (LOTS of snacks and big meals) to keep up calories so I didn’t lose my supply. If I remember correctly, I struggled with it mentally at times and definitely went into it with lots of fears. However, we did eat very well overall (I didn’t let myself go hungry) and ended up saving money as we didn’t eat out too often.

This time, I feel like I am in a great place and I have actually been excited to plan meals and begin the program. I am going into it better prepared and have educated myself a bit better on the reasoning for the program. I went to Costco this past week with the Whole30 in mind and was able to plan dinners for TWO WHOLE WEEKS! This is a big deal for my disorganized self. I decided to stick with protein that was affordable/on sale and then planning easy meals around those. I’ll share some of my favorite Costco Whole30 items in a little while after we’ve settled in to see how they’ve lasted us.

Below is our dinner meal plan for this first week. Breakfasts and lunches consist of mostly veggie scrambles/omelettes, leftovers, tuna, salad, and fruit. Snacks will probably be almonds, almond butter, avocado, and fruit.

Yesterday’s Lunch: Tuna and avocado salad / Part of yesterday’s dinner: slow-cooker carnitas

Monday – crockpot carnitas served with salsa, avodcado broccoli, peppers, onions, and potatoes.

Tuesday – Whole organic roasted chicken (Costco seems to have the best deal on these), cauliflower rice, and broccoli.

Wednesday – Beef meatballs, potatoes, some kind of green veggie.

Thursday – Aidell’s chicken apple sausage, potatoes, cauliflower/broccoli

Friday – veggie frittata, potatoes

Saturday – Pork loin roast, green veggies, potatoes

Sunday – Roasted whole chicken, green veggies, potatoes

I am looking forward to feeling just healthier overall and having more energy. I definitely have some weird digestion issues when I eat lots of grains and sugars (definitely noticed this weekend after we did some indulging). I am also looking to find out what in particular has been exacerbating some skin issues I’ve had on my hands the past few years. I plan to reintroduce foods slowly after, but still maintain a healthier, mostly grain-free and sugar-free diet.

Have you ever completed a Whole30 or another similar eating plan? Do you have any favorite meals that you think would work that we could try? I always love recipe suggestions!

One thought on “Whole30 Round 2

Leave a Reply

