Our Favorite Meals

Inspired by my friend Lisa’s post, I have decided to resurrect my blog and share some of our family go-to meals. I hadn’t planned to take a blog break, but as CRE at our church, my time has been stretched as this is one of our busiest times of the year with religious education, First Communion classes, and youth group starting up again after summer. I will admit that there has been a lack of sleep going on due to work-related stress and weird baby things going on (teething? new sleep schedules? I don’t even know!). Thankfully, things are calming down again. In the midst of the stress, on the days when we plan well and eat well, I feel better. Most (if not all) are paleo-adaptable (grain free, dairy free, refined sugar free), as my husband prefers this lifestyle. I have experienced the benefits of it myself, although I’m not as strict. Maybe I’ll share about that in another post one day soon.

Frittatas. We started cooking Frittatas a couple years ago during Lent. We found that they were an easy way to do a meatless, grain-free, but still hearty meal that’s packed with protein and veggies. Here are a couple good recipes we’ve tried and enjoyed: brunch frittata from Camille Styles and BLT Frittata from Mark’s Daily Apple. The great thing about these are they are so adaptable. If you are strict paleo, skip the cheese and milk or substitute with almond milk. You can use fresh veggies, frozen veggies, or almost any kind of leftover! We use our trusty Lodge skillet for this and normally sauté everything on the stove then finish in the oven. They are also freezable and great for leftovers.entertainingWith_AdamAndEleanor_7 (1)

via

Paleo Moussaka. I was a little nervous to try this since the recipe had a lot of components, but it is worth the effort. A lot of this could be prepped ahead of time too. It has all the yummy flavors of lasagna and Italian cooking, but without the grain.

 Paleo-Moussaka-1

via

Paleo burgers. The term “Paleo burgers” is kinda funny because they’re basically just BURGERS, without the bun. We found this recipe in our new favorite cookbook by Danielle Walker, Against All Grain. I think the cooked bacon is what makes it! I haven’t tried the barbecue sauce yet though, I can’t wait to try her newest book, Meals Made Simple. We try to use grass-fed beef (I got a great deal on some using my Cartwheel app last week, by the way!) for the added benefits. I like using butter lettuce to wrap my burgers or you just eat the patty on top of some healthy greens, salad style. We do some sort of burger/slider/meatball, at least once a week, by the way! Such a simple easy way to get your healthy fats in!

Some kind of simple chicken. I will admit that while I’ve gotten tired of chicken lately, but we still eat it at least once a week because it’s easy. My favorite chicken breast recipe lately is this one: baked chicken strips, also from Against All Grain. If you want to try a new way to use chicken thighs…it’s this. This was on heavy rotation when we did our Whole30 last year. I also enjoy a simple roasted chicken, as well. When we do this, we always save the bones for crock pot stock.

tumblr_inline_mzsez7fVRq1qdei8m

via

Overall we keep our meals pretty simple. Lately, that has looked like protein/main course, veggies, such as this recipe, and oven baked fries (No real recipe for this but we slice up 3 or 4 potatoes, russet or sweet normally, toss in a couple tablespoons of olive oil and seasonings, and bake in a 425 degree oven for 35ish  min. or until crispy). Also, I wanted to share that this summer we started using a CSA for our produce. It just started again for the fall, so I am so excited to see what healthy, seasonal produce we will be receiving each week!

Any go-to recipes you would like to share? I’d love to hear what works for you!

3 thoughts on “Our Favorite Meals

  1. Loved reading this! I’ve never thought about doing a frittata for dinner, but I love the idea. I’ve heard so many good things about the Against All Grain cookbook–I’m intrigued by it! Think it’s worth the purchase for non-paleo cooks? 🙂

    Like

    1. Yes, ma’am. Dave mentioned y’all are planning a TX trip soon! I’ll let you check it out so you can decide. But there are lots of different recipes (meals, breakfast, baked goods, sweets, sauces…) and I think they can easily be adapted to suit your preference.

      Like

Leave a Reply

