five fave ways to de-stress

I’m linking up for the first time with Call Her Happy for Five Faves. I’m blessed to be able to work part-time at our parish. My schedule is fairly flexible, especially in the summer, but I do get burnt out with trying to balance work responsibilities, the to-do’s of the house, and chasing around a toddler. Now that my husband and I have accomplished our first year of parenthood, I have figured out a few ways that work for me in the area of self-care. So in typical mom blog fashion, I’m going to share some of my favorite ways to de-stress.

IMG_2481

1. Ideally, I like to start my day with prayer. One of my favorite ways to pray these days is to reflect on the Scriptures and meditations for the day on Blessed is She. I love reading the Scriptures in my Bible (I use this one), but sometimes I just read them on my iPhone. Each morning the readings and reflections are sent to my inbox. The reflections are profound, but simple so they are easy to follow and are always different because there is a new contributor each day.

2. I have been a blog-reader for a few years now, but lately I haven’t had as much time to stay caught up on my favorites. Thankfully, I discovered podcasts last year during my maternity leave.

One of my favorites is This Inspired Life by Kristin, who hired me for my first job out of college! She speaks on faith, married life, motherhood, and keeping the home. Some of my favorite topics were a religious sister’s vocation story, an interview with a doula, and starting a capsule wardrobe. I also enjoy Fountains of Carrots, by Haley and Christy. They are hilarious together and it really feels like you are hanging out with them when tuning in. Jimpy seem to doesn’t mind it either and always dances along to the jazzy music in the beginning. I’ve listened to almost all of the available episodes so please share if you have suggestions!

3. At the end of the day, my husband and I like to unwind with a good show. Lately, we have been watching a lot of reruns of Top Chef on Hulu. So far we have watched the Texas and Louisiana seasons and are almost finished with Seattle. We also like Master Chef (Hulu or Fox Now) and Mind of a Chef (Netflix). Honorable random mentions/guilty pleasures include: the Bachelor and Friends!  Sometimes ice cream accompanies TV-watching (double stress-relief).

4. I used to be an avid runner, but I got burnt out after running competitively in college. I do like to be active though. We have been taking lots of family walks and going swimming, which has also been a fun way to reconnect at the end of the day. Maybe one day I’ll pick up running again or get into something more intense, but I’m happy with this for now.

5. My husband and I have been trying to be intentional with making healthier meals for our family, especially now that Jimpy really enjoys eating different kinds of foods. We have noticed that we feel better when we eat better. To keep things simple, instead of going the baby food route, we have been giving him small pieces of regular food, which he feeds himself. We aren’t perfect at it, but we attempt to make paleo-ish meals at home.

Since Dwija asked for suggestions on one-pot meals, I thought I’d include a couple on here. One-pot meals make clean-up easier and save time, for sure. We make frittatas, such as this one, pretty often. It’s easy to sub out the different meats and veggies with what you have. Slow cooker meals such as carnitas and spaghetti squash and meatballs are family favorites too. So basically anything we can make in our trusty Lodge skillet and Crock-Pot.

 IMG_2479

There you have it. How do you like to de-stress? While I try to take the time for self-care, it doesn’t always happen. Any suggestions on how you make self-care a priority?

Leave a Reply

